MidSouth Garrison

Hi, everyone. I just signed up to join this forum. I haven't done anything in terms of 501st approvals. Not even sure what that entails. I'm an Air Force veteran and huge Star Wars fan.

I own a Shock Trooper, Tie Pilot and Kylo Ren costume. I just finished the Shock Trooper and wore it at the ICCC event this past weekend. None of my stuff is 501st approved. Can I still participate in events with this group?

Hope this is the correct place to post new member info.

Thanks folks.

Jim

trooper 1.jpg

Their is a forum on submissions and how to do it. You need pictures of front back and then an action pose for your forum pic.  Once submitted it will be judged and they will let you know if you need to chance something and resubmit. But children don't have to do that I believe.  But there is a junior academy for that

The Galactic Academy rules are way more flexible since the kids will likely grow out of the costumes soon afterwards.  If I recall correctly, a parent/guardian must accompany them at all times.

Here is the current link to the 501st approval specs for a Shock Trooper.  http://databank.501st.com/databank/Costuming:TK_shocktrooper

To amend what Chris said above, you would need >=5 clear pictures sent in (hopefully with a fairly clear or solid , perhaps contrasting background): one of you in costume from head to toe from the front, from the left side, from the back, from the right side, and one with your helmet or "bucket" off, but held in hand.  I think you can also do an action pose, too.  I advise that each picture be as clear and close up as possible...while still showing the full costume at each angle.  Once you have them, you can send them to one of the Mid South Garrison's GML (Garrison Membership Liaison) to get approval and be set up as a 501st member.  Hopefully, the GML will be able to approve it, or guide you to make changes so that it can be approved.