nathanallan

Hiya from Nashville!

Hi guys! I just registered and wanted to introduce myself. I'm Nathan, just moved back to Nashville from living in El Paso for a long while, I was born here. I saw the original Star Wars movies in the 1970's as a small child and have been a fan ever since.

Since leaving Nashville, I joined and ETS'd from the Army, joined and ETS'd from a marriage, as well, haha. By trade I am a computer network technician and hardware guy. I have been called Maker by people around the internet and humbly accept the title when it comes up :)

I got into prop making when I got into 3D printing. It was a whole new world for me of making, modding and generally having things do something interesting that they were never intended to able to do before. I never dreamed a coffee can could become parts, or that things that were tossed out could be given new life as something totally else, either functionally or cosmetically until I started this!

I ran a hobby group using my 3D printer called Dusty Plastics, but that didn't work out with one of the other people involved, so it stopped. I am learning about foam prop making now (3D printer is broken, pending repair) and foam, Nerf blasters and repurposing is what I have to work with now.

I just moved here a few months ago, and took a part time job at a gas station where I met two of the troops getting gas after leaving an event just down the road from me. The paper dispenser jammed (this is totally the FORCE at work-- what are the odds!!) and one came to the window asking for his receipt wearing a Stay On Target shirt and 501st BDE hat, I recognized it immediately!

I was a goofball at that point. He and I talked just a few minutes and his friend came out, said (paraphrasing), What's this I hear about a trooper with NO ARMOR???

They had to get on their way, so they didn't stay long, but they told me of the forum and website, and gave me a sticker, now on my car!